The Long Earth by Terry Pratchett & Stephen Baxter: I read it again

The Long EarthThe Long Earth by Terry Pratchett
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Round 2:
I bought a collection of Pratchett’s short stories (A Blink of the Screen) and discovered it contained the germ of a tale which eventually grew into The Long Earth. Much to my surprise, I absolutely loved it. So much so that I decided to read TLE again, and give it a second chance. I waited until I had forgotten the majority of the plot and started again, fully aware now that I was getting in to a four book series dissimilar from the standard Pratchetts I know and love. The end result? Worth every minute! It’s not heavily action packed, but there’s easily enough excitement to keep an average reader engaged. As a series opener it works quite well. Pratchett and Baxter lay the basics of the plot out like brickwork; establishing their hundred-bazillion-earths setting, and sprouting characters I hope to see throughout the series. Enjoying The Long Earth as much as I have the second time around has cemented my desire to finish the series, so look for upcoming reviews as I complete The Long War, The Long Mars, and The Long Utopia. Just for funsies I’m going to pair this series with Brian Greene’s The Fabric of the Cosmos, I’m hoping reading a sci-fi series about multiple universes simultaneously with a non-fiction book about “the texture of reality” will lead to some interesting insights. Or at least interesting reviews. I’ll keep you posted!

See my review from the first time: https://treeslices.wordpress.com/2015/11/18/the-long-earth-by-terry-pratchett-and-stephen-baxter/
View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “The Long Earth by Terry Pratchett & Stephen Baxter: I read it again

  1. Pingback: The Shepherd’s Crown by Terry Pratchett – Tree Slices

  2. indian

    When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment
    is added I get three e-mails with the same comment. Is there any
    way you can remove people from that service? Many thanks! http://bit.ly/2lZh8pz

    Like

    1. To change your email preferences on a per-blog basis, click Manage in your Reader and click the arrow next to the title of a specific blog you follow. Select the frequency of email notifications for each blog. Below that will be a switch for turning blog comment notifications on and off. You can also unsubscribe using the link on the notification email wordpress sent you saying you signed up to be notified when new comments were posted, if you still have that email. You have to remove yourself, there isn’t a way for me to do it.

      Like

Say a thing!

