The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne

The Boy in the Striped PajamasThe Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

It took me two hours to read this book and the rest of the afternoon to recover. I started out thinking of Bruno as a selfish little twat, and not just because he’s a naive nine year old, because they can’t all be that bad. By the end of the book he had grown on me a bit. Boyne has done an excellent job writing from the perspective of a child who really doesn’t understand what’s going on around him and makes himself the center of every event. Not because he’s selfish, but because he’s still learning that the world is larger than he is. The strength of the novel depends in part on our abilities to make the connections Bruno fails to make in what is going on around him. By all means add this book to your reading list, but be aware that if you have difficulty with painful subjects this book may be a hard read for you.

View all my reviews

One thought on “The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne

  1. mom

    I like your observation that the strength of the book relies on our perspective and abilities; I wonder how many books I haven’t been able to appreciate through my own fault?

    Like

Say a thing!

