Krakatoa: The Day the World Exploded by Simon Winchester

Krakatoa: The Day the World ExplodedKrakatoa: The Day the World Exploded by Simon Winchester
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Originally published on April 25th, 2014
Not bad. I always find Winchester a little wordy; once you get used to that it’s alright. Krakatoa had me wishing I had taken a course in plate tectonics though. Even with diagrams and descriptions I didn’t feel like I really understood subduction, transverse faults and whatnot. Oddly enough, the complicated geological processes were the parts of the book I enjoyed the most. I think that’s just one of my quirks though; I’ve read a few books solely about geology now, just for funsies. So there must be something that draws me to it. As opposed to more conventionally interesting topics; like, say, the Dutch East India Company. The parts about the DEI bored me to tears, for some reason. Then again Winchester has never struck me as a heart-pounding writer. His work is more along the lines of exceptionally engaging text book. But hey! I’ll read that.

View all my reviews

Say a thing!

