Angels & Demons by Dan Brown

Angels & Demons  (Robert Langdon, #1)Angels & Demons by Dan Brown
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Originally published on August 21st, 2012
Not too bad! I thought it was interesting, with lots of nuanced, descriptive details suggesting Brown did a lot of research into the setting, plot devices, and physics. Also very grateful the edition I read included pictures of the ambigrams as they came up in the story; just made it that much more interesting. It did leave me wondering if some of the claims he makes about the Catholic church and Illuminati are true or not, although most of them I would imagine could be cleared up with basic research. Did the church really put those four specific scientists to death in the middle ages, for example? I’m sure it’s online or in a history book somewhere. Some of the other claims aren’t too far-fetched either; I’m sure out of the hundreds of popes throughout history, at least one or two have been murdered. I don’t remember there being as much controversy over this book and its portrayal of the Church as there was with The Da Vinci Code, so I will leave off addressing that issue until I read the next book. Though I will say, I didn’t have any problems separating the real, actual Church from the Church portrayed in this book. Just because someone writes it doesn’t make it true.
My only complaints with the writing were a few places where the foreshadowing/suspense-building was like being hit repeatedly with a blunt object. As if Brown was thinking “if I say it often enough it will make it exciting.” Thankfully, that happened infrequently enough that it’s only a minor quibble. Not enough to really detract from the enthrallment of the story as a whole.

View all my reviews

Say a thing!

