The Prisoner of Heaven by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

The Prisoner of Heaven (The Cemetery of Forgotten Books, #3)The Prisoner of Heaven by Carlos Ruiz Zafón
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Originally published in March of 2014
This was better. Less David, more Daniel. And Fermin Romero de Torres is back! I missed him during the brief hiatus the Sempere family took during The Angel’s Game (yes, I know he’s not technically part of the Sempere family. I’m including him anyways). Although, while mulling through character authenticity for my review of The Angel’s Game I had a hard time deciding if Fermin qualified as a person or not (as opposed to a stereotype). I eventually decided that he did, based on the varying way he responded to other characters depending on whether he likes them or not. He shows a range of emotions and interacts with a variety of other characters on a range of subjects. Not just the woman he is interested in.

I’m also hoping that Zafón will write a fourth novel for this series. While The Prisoner of Heaven doesn’t end on a cliffhanger, Zafón certainly left it open enough that he could slip in another installment when no one was looking. Apparently the current three can be read in any order (which now that I’ve finished them all I can certainly see). If you’re going to do it chronologically The Angel’s Game is first and The Prisoner of Heaven is last. I think. You could put The Prisoner of Heaven first too. Or read them in the order they were published. Really, you can’t go wrong. I checked. And this series is so worth reading.

View all my reviews

Say a thing!

