The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

The AlchemistThe Alchemist by Paulo Coelho
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Originally published February 25th, 2014
I have mixed feelings about this book. It was preachy. It was unusual. It was well written and engrossing, simple and straight-forward. But preachy. Although, to be fair, I’ve read books that were worse. Also, I wonder if there are a few editions done by different translators? That could change how it came across quite a bit. How does the English version compare to the original? (I believe Spanish?) I’ve heard a good translator is invisible, allows you to understand everything without their personality impacting the author’s works. Was their translator invisible? Maybe lightly tinted?

I don’t know. And even after mulling it over for a few days, I still can’t decide if I liked this book. The closest I get is “it was good but…” That might be the best way to sum it up. “It was good but…
I’m suspicious of things/books/people that tell me the universe will take care of me.
I don’t like being preached to.
It could have been a bit longer.”

But all that being said, I would still recommend reading it. It won’t take you long.

View all my reviews

Say a thing!

