Gravity’s Rainbow by Thomas Pynchon

Gravity's RainbowGravity’s Rainbow by Thomas Pynchon
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Originally published August 15th, 2014
I’ve come to the conclusion that this book is the lovechild of War and Peace and Ulysses. It’s huge, with an enormously complicated cast of characters, impenetrable writing, confusing sentence construction, and metaphors by the gallon. This book could be a college course unto itself. I kind of hope it is, so I can take that course and start to understand what Pynchon has been going on about for almost 800 pages. Reading this is like going to see all four parts of Wagner’s Ring Cycle, in German, without subtitles or translation. When you don’t speak German. It’s magnificent and impressive, but it also goes way over your head.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Gravity’s Rainbow by Thomas Pynchon

  1. Garry Maurice

    Haha nice review. I admire the fact you stuck to it; if I felt that way about a book, not sure if I’d lat 100 pages!

    Like

Say a thing!

