Death Comes for the Archbishop by Willa Cather

Death Comes for the ArchbishopDeath Comes for the Archbishop by Willa Cather
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Originally published on April 8th, 2013
This book soaked into my skin like juniper-scented bath salts that I didn’t realize had been dropped into the tub. It was sparse. Desolate. Magnificent. And lovely. And beyond that I don’t have the language to describe why I enjoyed it so much, except to draw the inevitable parallel to the desert the book is set in. There’s not a whole lot there. But if you’re a certain kind of person–I don’t want to say the right kind of person, just a certain kind–its beauty will reach through you, grab a piece of your soul and never let go. The only way to know for sure is to go there. The only way to know for sure is to read it.

View all my reviews

Say a thing!

