Dead Until Dark: Sookie Stackhouse #1 by Charlaine Harris

Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, #1)Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Originally published October 12th, 2013
I think I’ve been spoiled. I got turned on to this series after getting hooked on the Mercy Thompson novels by Patricia Briggs, and Mercy, her smart, indepenedent and tough heroine. Smart and tough isn’t really Sookie. She’s not useless or stupid, but there are points in the story where her behavior, concerns, and attitudes are very cliche. Those parts, and Harris’ brief forays into victim blaming (of COURSE that woman was murdered, she slept with too many people) grate on my nerves. But the plot is well done, the characters show promise, and for a first book in a series I’d say Harris has done a decent job.

View all my reviews

Say a thing!

