A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggers

A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering GeniusA Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggers
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Originally published September 18th, 2015
I started out really relishing the novelty of this…um…novel. The preface and acknowledgements and even the table of contents are unusual and quirky, and I was kind of enjoying myself. That soured pretty fast. It’s the sort of thing written by a pretentious teenager in high school who is still figuring out that other people are people. It’s so self-aware. And it’s aware that it’s aware. It’s got so many layers I need to lie down for a bit. It’s like when you’re dating and you meet someone new, and they really impress you with their charisma and confidence and how they seem to know something about everything, and then after you’ve been dating them for a while you realize that it was all just a lot of noise? And you’re completely sick of them after a month? That’s what this book was like. It was a learning experience, and now I’m going to go date other books that talk less and listen more, and maybe want to go out for coffee once in a while, and don’t spend half their time bragging about being superheros.

Addendum: I kind of wanted to add a special shelf on my “Goodreads bookshelf” for this one. Titled “gracious-me-what-a-lot-of-cursing.” That’s not usually something that bothers me, but this time it got on my nerves. And if it’s something you are troubled by you may want to skip this book entirely. If not? More power to you!

View all my reviews

Say a thing!

